At the AAA meetings last week, the SEA announced the winners of the 2013 Schneider Prize, which honors outstanding papers written by undergraduate and graduate students.

Harold Schneider, Professor of Anthropology at Indiana University, was known for both his path breaking research and his dedication as a teacher. Each year, the Society for Economic Anthropology invites both undergraduate and graduate students to submit papers on any aspect of economic anthropology or economic archaeology. The 2014 competition is open now.

The 2013 winners are:

2013 Graduate Winning Paper
Mengqi Wang, Brandeis University
The Moral Economy of Chinese Homeowners: Negotiating “the Right to Housing” in Post-purchase Conflicts
Faculty sponsor: Elizabeth Ferry

Mengqi was able to attend the meetings, and plans to present her paper at the 2014 SEA annual meeting.

2013 Graduate Honorable Mention
Jenny Diggins, University of Sussex
“Economic Runaways, on the Maritime Frontier”
Faculty sponsor: James Fairhead

2013 Undergraduate Winning Paper
Susan DiMauro, Washington University
“‘And Yet We Grew Beautiful Crops’: Reconstructing the Agricultural Economy of Shenandoah National Park Refugees”
Faculty sponsor: Glen Stone

2013 Undergraduate Honorable Mention
Shannon Smith, Reed College
“Shattering the economy of appearances: How land reforms facilitate land grabs in rural China”
Faculty sponsor: Charlene Makley