About the Society for Economic Anthropology Book Prize

The SEA Book Prize Committee looks for the best book in economic anthropology published over the last 3 years. The book prize includes a $500 award. It will be announced by the end of November 2023. The winning book will also be announced in the American Anthropological Association’s Anthropology News.

2023 Committee:

Joanne Baron (chair), Ariana Gunderson, Sarasij Mujumder, Kathleen Millar, Kristin Phillips, Andrea Rissing, Mariano Perelman, and Laura Cochrane

Instructions for Nominations

Nominations for the 2023 award are now closed.

Nominations must include

  1. Author(s) name(s)
  2. Book title
  3. Publication information including date and publisher
  4. A paragraph summarizing the book’s argument
  5. A brief description of how the nominated book fits into economic anthropology
  6. Contact information for person submitting the nomination (name, email, and phone number)

Authors must be SEA members at the time of their book’s submission. SEA is a member organization of the American Anthropological Association. Nonmembers whose books are nominated will have the opportunity to join the SEA to be considered for this prize.

Books must be published between May 2020 and April 2023. Books previously considered for the SEA book prize are not eligible for resubmission.

Please email nominations to the book prize committee chair (to be announced) with the subject “SEA book prize nomination.”

2020 Society for Economic Anthropology Book Prize Winners


Kathleen Millar, Reclaiming the Discarded: Life and Labor on Rio’s Garbage Dump (2018), Duke University Press

Kristin Phillips, Ethnography of Hunger: Politics, Subsistence, and the Unpredictable Grace of the Sun (2018), University of Indiana Press