Past Recipients of the SEA Book Prize

2020 winners

Reclaiming the Discarded: Life and Labor on Rio’s Garbage Dump by Kathleen Millar (Simon Fraser University)

An Ethnography of Hunger: Politics, Subsistence and the Unpredictable Grace of the Sun by Kristin Phillips (Emory University)

2017 winner

Money from Nothing: Indebtedness and Aspiration in South Africa by Deborah James (London School of Economics)

2014 winner

The Darjeeling Distinction: Labor and Justice on Fair-Trade Tea Plantations in India by Sarah Besky (Cornell University)

2012 winner

Coffee and Community: Maya Farmers and Fair-Trade Markets by Sarah Lyon (University of Kentucky)

2008 Winners

Global Outlaws: Crime, money and power in the Contemporary World by Carolyn Nordstrom (Notre Dame)

Home Cooking in the Global Village: Caribbean Food from Buccaneers to Ecotourists by Richard Wilk (Indiana University)

2006 Winner 

Tsukiji: The Fish Market at the Center of the Word by Theodore C. Bestor (Harvard University)

2003 Winner

Salaula: The World of Secondhand Clothing in Zambia by Karen Tranberg Hansen (Northwestern University)

2003 Honorable Mentions (unranked in alphabetical order)