The 2012 Halperin Awardees are:

Deniz Daser
, Department of Anthropology, Rutgers University.
“Living Work, Working Lives: Migrants and their Labor in New Orleans”.
Advisor: Rocio Magana.


Lauren A. Hayes, Department of Anthropology, University of Arizona.
“Talking Proper”: Appalachian Women in the Workplace.
Advisors: Jennifer Roth-Gordon and James Greenberg.


Andrew Ofstehage. Department of Anthropology. University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill.
“Development and Dispossession in Soylandia”.
Advisor: Rudolf Colloredo-Mansfeld.

The Award Evaluation Committee wishes to convey our appreciation to everyone who applied. We are sorry we could not fund every proposal, and we invite every candidate to share the results of their research at a future meeting of the Society for Economic Anthropology.

The Rhoda Halperin Memorial Fund celebrates the life and scholarly work of Rhoda Halperin by supporting PhD students inanthropology who emulate her love of economic anthropology and her concern for people living on the social margin. In memory of Rhoda’s convivial colleagueship, the Fund also encourages student professional development through participation in the scholarly meetings of the SEA and AAA. To meetthese goals, students engaged in economic research focused on social exclusion and poverty are provided small research grants and subsequent travel money to present their findings at the Society for Economic Anthropology annual conference.