2015 Halperin Awardees

The Society for Economic Anthropology is pleased to announce the three awardees of the 2015 award of $2500 for PhD research and conference travel to:

John M. Villecco, Department of Anthropology, American University

Project: Local Effects of Chinese -Funded Infrastructural Development on the Kenyan Coast


Beth Geglia, Department of Anthropology, American University

Project: Distributive and Concentrative Effects of Economic Collectives in Honduran Communities: A Pre-SEZ Study


Jonah Lipton, Department of Anthropology, London School of Economics

Project: ‘Ebola is the only work in Sierra Leone right now’: an ethnographic study of informal work, care, and family life in Freetown.


The committee, composed of Martha Rees, Judith Marti, Rudolf J Colloredo-Mansfeld, Lynne Milgram, Katrina Greene, Daniel Murphy, Patricia A McAnany, and Walter Little reviewed and ranked 36 applications in order to make the difficult decision about which projects to fund.

Thanks to all applicants for participating in the competition and to the committee members for their hard work reviewing such a high quality group of research proposals.

Martha Rees and Judith Marti, Co-Chairs, Halperin Memorial Fund Committee