The SEA awards excellent and innovative research

From an undergraduate’s first writings to a senior scholar’s book-length treatment of pressing topics, follow the links below to learn how we recognize scholarship.

The SEA is especially committed to junior scholars undertaking dissertation research. Explore the lists of our awardees to learn the future, often unexpected, directions our field is taking.

The Halperin Award

The Halperin Award supports graduate students undertaking pre-dissertation research.

The Schneider Prize

The Schneider Prize for excellent student papers, both undergraduate and graduate.

The SEA Book Prize

The SEA book prize recognizes in-depth monographs.

The M. Estellie Smith Award

The M. Estellie Smith Award supports junior scholars’ dissertation research and travel.

The Kate Browne Creativity in Research Award

The Kate Browne Creativity in Research Award recognizes scholars demonstrating unusual creativity in an original research project.