The SEA Book Prize Committee is looking for the best book in economic anthropology published over the last 3 years. The committee requests nominations for single-authored volumes published between 2014 and 2016 that focus on issues in economic anthropology. Author must be SEA members at the time of their book’s submission. Nonmembers whose books are nominated will have the opportunity to join the SEA and be considered for this prize. SEA is a member organization of the American Anthropological Association.

Previous winners of the Society for Economic Anthropology’s book prize are:

  • 2003 Salaula: The World of Secondhand Clothing and Zambia by Karen Tranberg-Hansen
  • 2005 Tsukiji: The Fish Market at the Center of the World by Ted Bestor
  • 2008 Global Outlaws: Crime, money and power in the Contemporary World by Carolyn Nordstrom AND Home Cooking in the Global Village: Caribbean Food from Buccaneers to Ecotourists by Richard Wilk
  • 2011 Coffee and Community: Maya Farmers and Fair Trade Markets by Sarah Lyons
  • 2014 The Darjeeling Distinction: Labor and Justice on Fair-Trade Tea Plantations in India by Sarah Besky

The book prize includes a $500 award, and will be presented during the Society for Economic Anthropology spring meeting and announced in the American Anthropological Association’s Anthropology News.

Deadline for nominations is November 1, 2016.

Books must be published in 2014, 2015, or 2016.

Nominations must include

  1. Author (s) name(s)
  2. Book title
  3. Publication information including date and publisher
  4. A paragraph summarizing the book’s argument
  5. A brief description of how the nominated book fits into economic anthropology
  6. Contact information for submitter (name, email, and phone number)

Please email your nomination, including book title and author name(s) to the book prize committee co-chairs, Deborah Winslow (dwinslow[at]nsf[dot]gov) and Sarah Besky (sarah_besky[at]brown[dot]edu). Please put “SEA book prize nomination” in the subject line of the email. Questions may be addressed to Deborah Winslow.